What I plan to do over the spring and summer break?

Veterans Park Arlington, TX. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo
Veterans Park Arlington, TX. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo

I want to spend my spring and summer breaks drawing, crafting, cooking/ baking, spend time in nature, and my loved ones.



"The Butterfly", my recent drawing.
“The Butterfly”, my recent drawing.

I want to catch up with my drawings. I have so many unfinished drawings in my sketchbook. In one I drew hands holding the world (it’s still a sketch), I still need to define it and add shading to it.

inverted picture
Inverted space photograph
Original space photograph
Original space photograph

Two or three weeks ago I was going to draw an inverted space drawing, this is how it works: You get space/ galaxy photograph. Then you invert it using an app or website. You draw the inverted picture, the colors you see in the inverted picture are the ones you are going to use. Finally when you finish with the drawing you take a picture using “Invert Colors” setting from your device (I use an iPod). You go to “Settings” -> “General” -> “Accessibility” -> “Invert Colors”. When you take the picture, it will look like the original photograph. It looks really cool, I tried to do it, but I failed. The one I did didn’t look anything like the original picture. I want to try it again because I know where I messed up, I colored it really dark and didn’t shade between the colors. It’s important to shade so everything can blend and look like space or galaxies.

Mystical creatures

Mermaid drawing by Kristina Webb
Mermaid drawing by Kristina Webb

I also have in mind of drawing fantasy mystical creatures like mermaids, half human and horse (they are in the movie Narnia), fairies and all these weird/ cool creatures, and draw beautiful serene nature landscape drawings.

I can beat cancer drawing by Kristina Webb
I Can Beat Cancer drawing by Kristina Webb
Stop bullying drawing by Kristina Webb
Stop bullying drawing by Kristina Webb

I want to do some drawings that honor people that have died from cancer, veterans, people that died in the Cristero War or that have died from a horrible harsh death, and bring Self-Awareness, Stop bullying drawings. Every time I see something I like, my brain just pops out ideas for new drawings. There is so much drawings I plan to do over the spring and summer break. I just need to buy more supplies and have determination in myself that I can do it.



simple-diy-paper-craft-ideas-28Along with drawings I want to do some crafting. I have so many pins of crafting in my Pinterest account that I want to try out. To be exact there are 213 pins and a little bit more in my “likes” of just crafting from origami, DIY cards (for special occasions), DIY flowers, DIY jewelry, and home decorations. There is a lot of artistic things going on.



I also want to try out new cooking recipes. red-velvet-cupcakesI want to bake my favorite cake Red Velvet and cook some delicious healthy food that I haven’t tasted out before. I think my mom would get mad at me because there would be papers, colored pencils, markers, paint, and food everywhere. Ooops!



Turner Falls, OK. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo
Turner Falls, OK. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo

I asked my parents that for this spring break if we could go to Turner Falls in Oklahoma. We went there last year’s spring break. I loved it! I want to go again, but this time I want to camp out there. I want to get away from technology and the distractions from the world. I want to have some peace and quiet and be closer to nature. But I still don’t know if this is for sure, we just have to wait and see if the climate permits it and if my parents agree with me.



La Plaza church. Photo credits: El periodista Tierra Nueva
La Plaza church. Photo credits: El periodista Tierra Nueva

For the summer break I want to go to Mexico. Last time my parents were talking about the possibility of going to Mexico! There is a lot of things to do in Mexico. Going to the top of a “cerro” [loma, colina, or big hill], going to “La Plaza” [towns square], going to the “Fiesta Del Barrio” [party of the neighborhood], and visiting family members. “El Cerro de Leon” is a big tall hill close to my house. I always climb it with my cousins and siblings when we go to Mexico. When you get to the top there is a small “capilla” [chapel], there my cousins, siblings and I rest. You can feel the cool breeze and see almost the whole town. We then explore the area we go to tiny caves. The fun part is when we go down, we go sliding! There are tubes from the bottom of the cerro to the top of it. The tubes carry water to a specific barrio.

Presa La Muñeca. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo
Presa La Muñeca. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo

There is a “Presa” [dam] called “Presa La Muñeca” [the doll dam] that delivers water to the whole town.

Presa La Muñeca sinked chapel.
Presa La Muñeca sinked chapel.

Legend has it that a little girl drowned in the dam. Her mother would look for her everyday but the only thing she found was her daughter’s doll. For years people would swim in the dam and they would often get pulled down by a mysterious force—the doll? But that’s a legend. They call it La Presa De La Muñeca because the cerros form a woman lying down facing up like The Sleeping Beauty. Where the dam is, there used to be a little town there. The only thing that remains is the top of what used to be church. That structure marks the water’s height if you can barely see the cross the water is high and if you can see the whole structure that means there is no water.

 

Going up to El Cerro El Original. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo
Going up to El Cerro El Original. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo
Angels of honor. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo
Angels of honor. Photo credits: Araceli Acevedo

There is a cerro in Santa Maria Del Rio called “Cerro Del Original.” There is a sad tragic story behind that cerro: people would usually go to the top of the cerro to pray. One time they went to pray, it started to rain, and a lightning struck the place. A big cross they carried was divided into half, five children were killed and others were injured. In honor of the lost lives of the innocent children the town’s people built a capilla. The capilla has five big angels representing the children and the divided cross is between them. The capilla is beautiful and the view from the top is something you can admire all day. The cool breeze is the finishing touch and refuels you from the long distance you climbed.

La Plaza's church
La Plaza’s church
Drawn curtains
Drawn curtains

I like going to La Plaza, because we get to buy food and candy in the market. We get to visit the main church and that church is gorgeous. Recently, they have added beautiful drawings of angels and saints. What I really like about it is that the artist drew 3-D curtains and they look amazing! The front seats are the best they are closer to the altar, when you look at the top (the architecture is circular, like a dome) you can see the magnificent angels. In front of the church is the jardin [garden].

La Plaza
La Plaza

There are tall trees and rich green bushes enhancing the place. There you can have a stroll or have a sit on the benches and watch the cars and people pass by. La Fiesta del Barrio is a party of the neighborhood. I live in the “Señor De La Piedad” neighborhood. Every neighborhood has a chapel/ church and La Fiesta del Barrio is in honor of their chapel/ church. Our barrio party offers games, rides, concession stands of different foods and things you can buy (bracelets, souvenirs, etc.) it’s basically like a mini Six Flags. I saved the best for last, I get to see my family members! I get to spend my time with them and have long talks about our lives. We live close together so in 5 or less minutes I can get to their house, just by walking! My siblings and I would always go walking to my cousins’ houses so we could go to the store together to buy food and candy.

That is how I want to spend my spring and summer break to accomplish the things I want to do, spend time close to nature and with my loved ones.

Leave a Reply

